Vigan Declared New7Wonders City

Vigan has been declared as one of the world’s New7Wonders Cities.

The inauguration was held Thursday night (May 7) at the St. Paul Metropolitan Cathedral grounds. A bronze plaque was presented to the officials.

According to the site, Vigan is the 1st of the New7Wonders Cities to be officially inaugurated. The site has this to say about Vigan:  “Established in the 16th century, its architecture echoes the fusion of cultural elements from the Philippines, China and Europe, creating a city that is without equal in Asia.”

Vigan is also described as “the best-preserved example of a planned Spanish colonial town in Asia” on the site.

Calle Crisologo in Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Philippines (Photo: Simon Burchell)
Calle Crisologo in Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Philippines (Photo: Simon Burchell)

Aside from Vigan, the New7Wonders Cities are:

  • Beirut, Lebanon
  • Doha, Qatar
  • Durban, South Africa
  • Havana, Cuba
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • La Paz, Bolivia

These 7 cities were selected based on voting from the people through the internet, smartphone apps, international voting lines and text messaging.

Vigan is also a World Heritage Site.

Below is a video that gives us a taste of how Vigan looks like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *